me: Ummm, say that again please??

Dr. P: I said, you’ve got 8 embryos cooking away right now.  One 3 cell, two with 7 cells and the other 5 embryos are between 9 and 11 cells.

me: Wait I dont understand.  I thought we only had 6 on Friday?

Dr. P: You did only have 6 fertilized embryos on Friday, but we continue to culture all of your ICSI’d eggs and fertilized embryos because sometimes this happens.

me: So it sounds like we have 7 embryos that meet biopsy criteria, so I am assuming that is what you are suggesting-biopsy the 7 and send them out for CGH testing?

Dr.P: Yes absolutely.  We will keep culturing all 8 embryos, but we can’t biopsy the 3 celled one without the risk of damaging it, so we will just try to get it to blastocyte stage.  However, I am confident that with a pool of 7 testable embryos that you will have the answers you are looking for from this cycle. We will get the results on Tuesday morning and will call you as soon as they come in, but tentatively plan for a Tuesday afternoon transfer.

 

 

 

