I have been dreading telling my boss I needed more time off after the close to 3 weeks I took off in July/August for my last IVF cycle-merely because it’s in season and because, well… I don’t have any vacation time left to take.

My boss is 10 years older than me, and we’ve always had a good rapport-especially when he realized that I had a lot in common with his 10 year old son-we are both quite fond of potty humor.  We crack jokes that I am sure would be considered not too PC and probably a little more on the risque side than what would fly in a corporate environment. However, the fitness industry is male dominated, and well I think all of those topics are heeelarious-so thats they way we role.

Turns out this is a good thing-as I just had the shortest meeting with my boss E.V.E.R. about my time off I need over the next 2 weeks that started with…

“Hey, you got a second, I need to have an awkward conversation with you about my vagina”…and it went something very similar to this (mostly I think because I used the word vagina which is, of course, shocking)….


Me (aka Obi Wan Jedi Vagina): [with a small wave of my hand] I don’t need to be at work for the next 2 weeks.


Storm trooper (aka my boss): You don’t need to be at work for the next 2 weeks.


Me aka Obi Wan Jedi Vagina: All of my clients, meetings and classes have been covered, Ill work from home and come in when I can.


Storm trooper aka my boss: All of your clients, meetings and classes have been covered, you can work from home and come in when you can.


Me aka Obi Wan Jedi Vagina: I can go about my business.


Storm trooper aka my boss: You can go about your business.


Me aka Obi Wan Jedi Vagina: Move along.


Storm trooper aka my boss: Move along… move along.

