What a good morning!  Not only do I have the entire day off of work, but it is an incredible fall day here in New England-brilliant sun, nice breeze and in the low 60’s.  As I was sitting outside with a blanket in the rocking chair sipping a cup of joe watching Mr. D patrol the backyard to ensure no chipmunks or squirrels come back to his space in search of acorns-I was surprised to hear my cell phone ring.

My good day was made GREAT!

Back in July I was given a test to see what my ovarian reserve was.  Which is essentially a test to determine how many eggs remain and how good these remaining eggs are.  While the tests are pretty good at determining how many eggs a woman has-they simply use age as the biggest deciding factor to the quality of those eggs.  My age isn’t horrible, but at 35, it is mediocre at best.  A blood test is done on the third day of your cycle to get 2 readings of hormones in your blood to tell you the quantity of eggs on board.

The FSH number and the E2 or Estradiol number.  This is the chart of those 2 hormones with a mini description:

Follicle Stimulating Hormone (FSH) Day 3 3-20 mIU/ml FSH is often used as a gauge of ovarian reserve. In general, under 6 is excellent, 6-9 is good, 9-10 fair, 10-13 diminished reserve, 13+ very hard to stimulate.
Estradiol (E2) Day 3 25-75 pg/ml Levels on the lower end tend to be better for stimulating. Abnormally high levels on day 3 may indicate existence of a functional cyst or diminished ovarian reserve.

Back in July my FSH number was an 11.1 and my E2 was at 18.   Boooooooo!!!  That meant not only did I have mediocre quality eggs but it also meant I had a diminished reserve of them too.  Double BOOOOOOOO!!!!  Not as many and not so great was what I thought we were dealing with.

So did my RE when I talked with her last week because all she had to go on was the reports from my OB.  So being the good doc she is, she ordered me to come in and have a re-test of CD3 blood hormones AND the antral follicle count to actually see for herself what we were dealing with for this cycle.  And well thank god she did!!  With the initial amount of hormones she wanted me to inject nightly based on my OB’s numbers I would certainly either end up the next octomom this cycle or in the hospital for OHSS.

My FSH number is now at 6.2, and my E2 is at 16.  This is fabulous.  I have no idea why my numbers have dropped, the only difference in testing was that I had not fasted back in July and my blood was pulled in the afternoon as opposed to fasting and having them drawn at 7:30am.  These lower numbers mean I should respond REALLY well to the injections and at a lower dose (150iu instead of 250iu).

Yaaaayyyyy for less drugs, and hopefully yaaaayyyyy for a good response.  C’mon ovaries-you can do it!!  She also moved up the date of my first scan for this cycle so that they can decrease the drug dosage just in case my ovaries are finally on board and cooperating this cycle!  I will have my first Follie check on Friday at 7:10am.

